Bharat Express

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP’s Nitin Gadkari Poised for Victory in Nagpur

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Nitin Gadkari secured a resounding victory, commanding a substantial vote share of 55.7 percent.

Nitin Gadkari elections

Nitin Gadkari

Displaying unwavering confidence in his electoral prospects, BJP candidate and Union Minister Nitin Gadkari expressed certainty regarding the outcome of the Nagpur Lok Sabha seat elections. Gadkari declared on Friday that he is fully confident, expressing a conviction of 101 percent assurance of victory in the upcoming election within his constituency. The Nagpur Lok Sabha constituency is poised for a competitive contest between Gadkari and the Congress candidate, Vikas Thakre, who presently serves as the Nagpur West MLA.

“We are celebrating the festival of democracy today. Everyone should vote, this is our fundamental right as well as duty. You can vote for anyone but casting your vote is important. I am 101% percent that I will win by a good margin,” Gadkari told ANI.

He further appealed to voters to come early at the polling stations due to the high temperature in the city.

“We are celebrating the country’s biggest festival with great enthusiasm. In Nagpur, I would especially appeal to the voters that the temperature is high here so they should come early and vote. Last time there was 54 per cent voting, this time our resolve is to take the voting percentage to 75 per cent. I will definitely win this election by a very big margin,” he said after casting his vote.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Nitin Gadkari secured a resounding victory, commanding a substantial vote share of 55.7 percent. His triumph saw him surpass the current Maharashtra Congress President, Nana Patole, by an impressive margin of 2,16,009 votes. Earlier, in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Gadkari had also clinched a decisive win, defeating Congress leader Vilas Muttemwar with a substantial margin of 2,84,828 votes.

Maharashtra, with its 48 Lok Sabha seats, stands as the second-largest state in terms of parliamentary representation, following Uttar Pradesh. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP, in alliance with the undivided Shiv Sena, emerged victorious in 23 out of the 25 seats it contested.

The electoral landscape in Maharashtra is gearing up for another round of polling, scheduled in five phases on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, and May 20, to determine the fate of the 48 Lok Sabha seats.

Meanwhile, the world’s largest democratic exercise has commenced in India, with the initiation of polling in 102 constituencies across 21 states and Union Territories. Spanning from April 19 to June 1, this Lok Sabha election is poised to become the country’s second longest polling exercise in history, following the inaugural general election held over five months between September 1951 and February 1952.

Similar to the 2019 elections, this year’s polls will also unfold in seven phases, with the vote counting scheduled for June 4. The electoral process stands as a cornerstone of India’s democratic ethos, shaping the nation’s political landscape and determining its future trajectory.

Also Read: DMK, AIADMK Spent 1000 Cr To Influence Voters: K Annamalai