Bharat Express

Imran Khan’s Party Poised to Govern Pakistan, Sharif Family Stunned, Bilawal and Maulana Fazlur Rahman Left Observing

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) asserts its lead in over 150 seats in the general elections, positioning itself to govern the federation.

Vote counting for the 2024 general elections in Pakistan’s neighboring country is underway, with inconclusive and unofficial results emerging. The polling process took place from 8 am to 5 pm yesterday, with millions exercising their right to vote.

In Punjab, clashes between workers of different political parties resulted in 10 injuries in Gujranwala, Chakwal, and Sadiqabad. Similarly, in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s Lakki Marwat area, two individuals were injured during a skirmish between political party workers, while three people sustained injuries in a similar incident in Balochistan’s Naseerabad area.

The closure of mobile phone and internet services across the country posed challenges for candidates and voters alike.

Independent candidate supported by PTI

PTI-backed independent candidate Saleem Rehman emerged victorious in NA-3 Swat, securing 81,411 votes across all 309 polling stations. PML-N’s Wajid Ali Khan trailed behind with 27,861 votes.

In NA-13 Bitgram, PTI-backed independent candidate Muhammad Nawaz Khan clinched victory with 24,686 votes from all 278 polling stations, while Rah Haq Party’s Atta Muhammad secured second place with 18,130 votes.

Independent candidate Ali Khan Jadoon triumphed in NA-17 Abbottabad2, securing 97,177 votes across all 324 polling stations. Muslim League-Ne Mohabbat Khan Awan came in second with 44,522 votes.

In NA-30 Peshawar, independent candidate Shandana Gulzar Khan, supported by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, secured victory with 78,971 votes from all 267 polling stations. Nasir Khan of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam came second with 20,950 votes.

PTI-backed independent candidate Waseem Qadir emerged victorious in NA-121 Lahore, securing 78,803 votes. Muslim League-N’s Rohail Asghar secured second place with 70,597 votes in the unofficial results.

Muslim League

In NA-55 Rawalpindi, PML-N candidate Malik Abrar Ahmed emerged victorious with 78,542 votes across all 311 polling stations. PTI-backed independent candidate Mohammad Basharat Raja secured second place with 67,101 votes.

PML-N secured victory in NA-58 Chakwal, with Major (Retd) Tahir Iqbal winning by obtaining 115,974 votes from all 459 polling stations. PTI-backed independent candidate K Ayaz Ameer trailed closely behind with 102,537 votes. Additionally, PML-N President and former Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif secured a National Assembly seat from Lahore.

Shahbaz Sharif was declared successful in NA-123, securing 63,953 votes in the unofficial results. PTI-supported independent candidate Afzal Azim Pahat secured second place with 48,486 votes.

In NA-167 Bahawalpur 4, Muhammad Usman Owaisi of PML-N emerged victorious with 78,970 votes across all 301 polling stations. Independent candidate Malik Amir Yar Waren secured second place with 42,500 votes.

In NA-135 Okara 1, Nadeem Abbas Rabira of PML-N secured victory with 107,862 votes in the unofficial results from all 370 polling stations. Independent candidate Malik Muhammad Akram Bhatti secured second place with 90,443 votes.

Pakistan Peoples Party

Nafisa Shah of PPP emerged victorious in NA-202 Khairpur 1, securing 121,756 votes across all 305 polling stations in the unofficial results. Syed Ghos Ali Shah of Grand Democratic Alliance secured second place with 26,745 votes.

PPP’s Zulfiqar Bachani secured victory in NA-217 Tando Ullahyar, winning with 115,000 votes from all 331 polling stations in the unofficial results. Raheela Mugsi of Grand Democratic Alliance came in second with 69,900 votes.

In NA-199 Ghotki 2, Ali Gohar Meher of People’s Party emerged victorious with 154,832 votes from all 365 polling stations. Abdul Qayyum of JUIF secured second place with 40,204 votes in the unofficial results.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has asserted its dominance in over 150 seats in the general elections, positioning itself to form the government at the federal level. Barrister Gohar declared that based on polling station reports, PTI holds a lead in 150 seats. According to the Election Act, results are typically announced by midnight or, at the latest, by 2 a.m. However, Gohar expressed concern over the delay in result announcements, stating that supporters are anxiously awaiting the official outcome. He affirmed that PTI supporters will remain present at the Returning Officer (RO) offices until Form 47, ensuring a smooth transition to power in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and at the federal level.