Breaking News

Government Names Sanjay Kumar Agarwal As Chairman Of CBIC

Agarwal was in charge of CBIC member compliance management

Sanjay Kumar Agarwal

Sanjay Kumar Agarwal. Credit: PTI

The government named Sanjay Kumar Agarwal as the new chairman of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC) on Saturday.

Agarwal takes over for Vivek Johri, who retired on May 31.

“The President of India is pleased to appoint Shri Sanjay Kumar Agarwal, IRS,…member CBIC as chairman CBIC in the department of revenue, with the status of Special Secretary to the Government of India with effect from the date of assumption of the post”, the finance ministry stated in an office order.

Agarwal was in charge of CBIC member compliance management, which included conducting investigations.

In a separate order, the ministry announced that Surjit Bhujabal, the incumbent principal director general of DGGI, has been appointed as a member of the CBIC.

The CBIC board is led by a chairman who is aided by six members who oversee tax policy, customs, information technology and taxpayer services, GST, compliance management, and vigilance.

Also read: MSME Influencers Forum Launched To Promote Small & Medium Units Growth