Bharat Express

PM To Attend Oath Event In Meghalaya & Nagaland Today

Neiphiu Rio of the NDPP and Conrad Sangma of the NPP will be sworn in as chief ministers of Meghalaya and Nagaland, respectively.


Oath Event in Tripura& Meghalaya

Neiphiu Rio of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and Conrad Sangma of the National People’s Party (NPP) will take office as chief ministers of Nagaland and Meghalaya, respectively, today at Kohima, Shillong, and Agartala.

The Oath Events

On Thursday, the day after Holi, Manik Saha of the BJP will swear in his position as chief minister of the alliance government led by the saffron party in Tripura.

This week’s three ceremonies are anticipated to be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Federal Home Minister Amit Shah.

Although the central government continues negotiations with former NSCN (IM) rebels to complete a long-awaited peace pact in the border state, Rio will be leading an all-party government with no opposition in his state.

In the recently held elections in Nagaland, the NDPP-BJP partnership gained 37 seats in the 60-member Assembly.

The state’s other parties subsequently wrote letters of support for the partnership formed by Rio.

Rio, 72, has been positioned as both the NDPP and BJP’s chief ministerial candidate since the start of the election campaign.

The NPP-led alliance in Meghalaya has staked a claim to establish a government with 45 MLAs supporting it, including two from the BJP.

Conrad K. Sangma, the leader of the NPP, will take the oath of office as chief minister on Tuesday among other cabinet ministers. His party won 26 seats in the elections held on February 27.

On Monday, pro-tem speaker Timothy D. Shira administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 58 newly elected MLAs, bringing them into the legislature.

The Ceremony

At the ceremony, Sangma, who will serve as chief minister for a second consecutive term, was also present.

On March 9 at a unique House session, the newly elected assembly’s speaker will be chosen.

Manik Saha, the BJP’s leader in Tripura, was announced to keep his position as chief minister.

On Monday in Agartala, a conference of the BJP parliamentary party elected Saha as its chief minister.

The Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), the BJP’s ally, gained one seat in the 60-member Assembly while the BJP won 32 seats in the recently held elections.

Also read: Indore Bus Mishap Leaves One Woman Dead And 15 Injured

Rajib Bhattacharjee, the state president of the BJP, stated in a press conference outside Raj Bhavan: “Manik Saha, who was today unanimously chosen as the party leader in the legislature, spoke with the governor and asserted his right to form the government. Furthermore extending its letter of support is our comrade IPFT.” The National People’s Party (NPP) emerged as the single largest party in Meghalaya, with the saffron party afterward extending support to the local organization led by Conrad Sangma. The BJP and its allies have maintained power in Tripura and Nagaland.