Sports

Australia asks the ICC for clarification about Marcus Stoinis’ dismissal, saying “Umpires Really Did Not…”

In the 134-run World Cup loss to South Africa, the third umpire’s decision to deem Marcus Stoinis out infuriated the Australian team, and batsman Marnus Labuschagne and coach Andrew McDonald said they would seek clarification from the ICC. After South Africa reviewed the ruling, Stoinis was declared out for being caught behind in the 18th over off a delivery from Kagiso Rabada. When the ball landed on Stoinis’ bottom hand, the Ultra Edge displayed a spike. However, the fact that Stoinis’ top hand left the bat and there was some debate as to whether the bottom and top hands were both attached to the bat complicated matters.

“In these circumstances, you must accept the umpire’s judgment. After the game, McDonald predicted that the ICC would provide some form of justification for the dismissal.
While batting at the non-striker’s end, Labuschagne indicated the team would ask the apex body for clarification.

“We will get clarity or will seek clarity because it’s the World Cup,” Labuschagne stated.

The umpires were truly ignorant of what was happening. There wasn’t a lot going on because they witnessed what we did. Marcus and I were just checking to see if they had checked when I noticed that it appeared on the field. His hand was off the bat; it struck the glove, and it didn’t go to the side at an angle.
Considering that they just checked the spike from the front, They didn’t receive the close-up, zoomed-in view of the side that we did, which made it appear as though there was plenty of open space between the two gloves and the handle.

However, I was in the third umpire’s room again, and this time the screen was large and much clearer than when I was watching from the middle of the pixelated screen.

“There was considerable speculation that it might have struck the bat’s handle. I’m not sure. After a South African review, Steve Smith was also disqualified. The ball tracking equipment revealed that the umpire was wrong, and the ball had indeed struck the leg stump.

Also read: Jasprit Bumrah returns to Ahmedabad for Cricket World Cup clash, Says “Mother First Priority Before Pakistan”

“Technology is difficult to argue against. Technology prevented it from hitting the stumps, despite the possibility that it was going outside.
“There is a chance whenever Smith and Stoinis are present. Given the chance, they would have brought the game closer because they are both excellent players, according to McDonald.

Kavya Bhatt

Recent Posts

Thailand Releases Commemorative Stamp Showcasing 18th-Century Ramayan Murals During PM Modi’s Visit

Thailand unveiled a commemorative stamp featuring 18th-century Ramayan mural paintings, marking the first day of…

3 mins ago

PM Modi Expands India-Thailand Cooperation With Strategic Partnership Deal

PM Modi and Thai PM Paetongtarn Shinawatra elevate India-Thailand ties to a strategic partnership in…

7 mins ago

India, Thailand Elevate Ties To Strategic Partnership; Key MoUs Exchanged

PM Narendra Modi met his Thai counterpart, Paetongtarn Shinawatra, reaffirming the strong bilateral relationship between…

35 mins ago

SC Orders Immediate Halt To Tree Cutting In Kancha Gachibowli Forest In Hyderabad

The Supreme Court has ordered the Telangana government to immediately stop the felling of trees…

50 mins ago

CM Yogi Adityanath Cracks Down On Waqf Board; Inaugurates Key Projects In Prayagraj

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, on Thursday, firmly addressed the issue of land encroachment…

59 mins ago

PM Narendra Modi Receives Special Edition Of Tipitaka From Thai PM

Thai PM presented PM Modi with 'The World Tipitaka: Sajjhaya Phonetic Edition', highlighting India-Thailand cultural…

1 hour ago